You're Invited

“To Err is Human” livestream online & panel discussion September 17, 2019 at 3:00pm ET / 1:00pm MT / 12:00pm PT

Join us online September 17 to celebrate the first World Patient Safety Day!

Watch an exclusive screening of "To Err is Human", followed by a panel discussion with senior Canadian healthcare leaders who are working to make healthcare safer.

When: September 17 at 3:00pm ET / 1:00pm MT / 12:00pm PT

Agenda
3:00 pm | Ottawa event and live stream start
3:15 pm | “To Err is Human” screening
4:45 pm | Panel discussion
Moderator: Tom Blackwell, Senior reporter, Financial Post
Panelists: Sandi Kossey, Senior Director, CPSI
Leslee Thomson, President and CEO, HSO and Accreditation Canada
Robert Amyot, Strategic Advisor, CAE Healthcare
Allison Kooijman, Co-Chair of Patients, Patient Safety Canada
*Virtual guests are welcome to participate in the discussion through the live stream platform
5:15 pm | Closing remarks 

The World Health Organization has declared September 17 as the first World Patient Safety Day. Globally, 134 million adverse events contribute to 2.6 million deaths each year due to unsafe care. At 28,000 deaths per year in Canada, patient harm ranks third in mortality after cancer and heart disease.

CAE Healthcare, in collaboration with the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI)Patients for Patient Safety Canada, and Health Standards Organization (HSO), invites you to commemorate the first World Patient Safety Day by attending a featured screening of To Err is Human. This patient safety documentary interviews healthcare leaders, highlights real-world efforts toward safer patient care, and explores one family’s compelling journey from victimhood to empowerment. The screening will be followed by a panel discussion with senior healthcare leaders.